Dear Friends, Family, and all of my Supporters!

      Jesus has done so much through our students, our churches, our city and in my own personal life that I truly know what the author of the Gospel of John meant when describing his own journey with Jesus that he’s done so many things that “If every one of them were written down, I suppose that even the whole world would not have room for the books that would be written.” (John 21:25) but I suppose that I must try. Let us begin with what I was asking all of you to pray for last time I wrote, Markeast!!! Markeast is one of the camps InterVarsity Christian Fellowship runs every year for undergraduate students to spend a week together in an intensive 40 hours of Bible study, whether that’s the first half of the Gospel of Mark, it’s second half, or the beginning of Genesis and we had over a hundred students decide to take a week of their summer after their exams to do such intensive study! It was held at a wonderful Bible camp called Greenhill Camp in New Brunswick, and though the water still had sheets of ice breaking up from the winter, we had three students commit their lives to Jesus publicly in baptism- it was quite the testimony to the non-believers to see Christians willing to go into such freezing water for this!!! Lastly, I had the joy, due to unforeseen circumstances, to teach on the story of the feeding of the 5000– which was great because I got to teach about God’s provision, and shepherding of us, which is what Jesus has been doing in my own life throughout this year, especially through your generous donation to our ministry!

      Our ministry has been entirely through the city of Montreal, though we did have a little fun excursion to Quebec City in order to really soak in the history and culture of Quebec and its complicated relationship to the church. But there have been some wonderful highlights of this city and I’ve been delighted to participate in and share with all of you! First is, St.Joseph’s Oratory, whose original iteration was built by then Brother Andre and Brother Abundius in 1904. Now while the now basilica is so gorgeous who’d think you were in Europe! The story of Brother Andre however is what has been the real gem at the spiritual heart of Montreal. In 1871 an unassuming feeble man became “the doorkeeper, infirmarian, and lamp tender at Collège Notre-Dame. His duties also include running errands, caring for the garden, cutting students’ hair, managing the laundry and working as general factotum.” Over the years he begins to greet the sick who come to him to the school and begins to heal them with oil, much to the complaint of the church hierarchy. He later dreams of building an oratory to St.Joseph, Mary’s husband and the saint of labourers, where he continued to pray and heal thousands of people. When he died at the age of 91, a million people attended his funeral! Finally in 2010 Pope Benedict XVI declares Brother Andre a saint, though he for most of his life was never allowed into the priesthood! It is such a story as Brother Andre’s that we relive the Acts of the Apostles in our own time!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

      The second and last aspect of the city that I want to share with you all, is its thriving art scene! The opportunities I have had to perform some of my Hip-Hop music here have been plentiful and diverse, from performing at worship nights to student bars to shows raising awareness about mental health. It has been a wonderful way to invite students into conversation surrounding faith and art, and to upset all their expectations about what Hip-Hop is suppose to be about! Furthermore, one of my last days here, I finally got the opportunity to take some of my students on a wonderful graffiti tour of St.Laurent! We had the chance to walk around for hours taking photos of all the commissioned (and uncommissioned 😉 ) art that Montreal has to offer! It was a way for us to see the cultural of Montreal and its spiritual expression in our contemporary setting as opposed to its colonial history.

      Now to address the hard stuff, the futures of my housemates and I. As all of you know, and I’m terrible sorry I have not kept you all updated as closely as I would have liked to, we all began this internship knowing that it would be for a limited time and that time is now at a close. What will we all be doing next? Well, I am happy to report that Austin Fedchuk and Sebastian will both be continuing with InterVarsity Christian Fellowship as staff this upcoming year, at Calgary and Montreal respectively, and if you would like to contact them about their ministry and help them continue with their work, please email me for more info (calebdupton@gmail.com) or you can feel free to email either of them- AFedchuk@ivcf.ca for Austin or SLee@ivcf.ca for Sebastian! As for Julianna, Megan and myself, none of us will be continuing with InterVarsity Christian Fellowship for the next stage of ministry and lives. Megan and Julianna’s stories are their own to tell but for myself it came about through much prayer, discernment and discussion with mentors and friends. While their has been much of this ministry that I have loved, such as the love of students, mentoring and witnessing transformation, and campus outreach there have been other aspects that I have been missing a great deal that this role does not lend itself to very easily such as preaching and teaching. Furthermore, not only have I been missing preaching and teaching but I believe that they are my most abundantly given gifts from God, and I need to nurture them and grow them in a church setting, while still being humbled by my lack of skill in counselling and facilating. It is precisely because I have been humbled in these areas and because God has made a way economically that I will be pursuing my Masters of Divinity studies at Wycliffe college this upcoming fall!  God has shown me this year how much I love the church, how gifted I really am in some areas (preaching, teaching, writing, administration, leadership, vision, and creativity) and how gifted I’m really not in other areas (counselling, emotional awareness, facilitation, and networking) that I will be pursuing my MDiv but also pursuing further ministry work in a church setting for elsewhere.

      To all my Torontonians I will be returning on Tuesday May 23rd, but from now till then and further on you can be praying for (1) our fellowship in Montreal and for my students and their continued growth in outreach to their campus, (2) for InterVarsity Christian Fellowship (IVCF) Canada as an organization as they are currently embroiled in controversy concerning their policies due to sexuality, belief and employment for which they will need to discern and navigate continually*, (3) for those in ministry whether IVCF or not that we will continue to pursue education and skill in mental health areas as it is clear that it is becoming an increasingly difficultly and suffering of university aged people in particular, and (4) for myself as I am currently in the middle of discerning employment and pursuit of ministry whether in Toronto or elsewhere, and that as I am continually anxious about my future with God and for pursuing my own self-care, that in both I will continue to trust that the Lord is Good, Good to me, even when I may have difficultly at times discerning that goodness or feeling it in the moment.

Thank you fellow saints for your support always, with love and gratitude, until next time

Caleb Upton

*I intend to write more personally about this aspect at a later date.

